Manchester United managers since the departure of Sir Alex Ferguson

Sir Alexander Chapman Ferguson is hugely considered to be one of the greatest managers of all time in football history and mostly recognized for his success achieved with Premier League giants Manchester United.

Ferguson, who is the manager with the highest trophies won, was appointed as head coach of the Red Devils in November 1986. In his 26 years with the club, Ferguson was able to lift 38 trophies, which includes 13 Premier League titles, five FA Cups, four EFL Cups, 10 Community Shields, two UEFA Champions League and one FIFA Club World Cup.

Embed from Getty Images

In his reign as Manchester United manager, Ferguson was able to win 10 Manager of the Year awards and 27 managers of the month awards. He is one of the most decorated United head coaches of all time being the first manager to win the Premier League title three times consecutively in English League history, which he did twice.

Sir Alex Ferguson finally retired as manager at the end of the 2012/13 campaign.

Here are the list of the head coaches who have managed Manchester United since the retirement of Ferguson.

Embed from Getty Images

David Moyes

David Moyes, who was appointed as manager on May 2013, signed a six year contract with the club following the departure of Alex Ferguson. He became the first Red Devils manager in history to win a trophy in his first season with the club after claiming a 2-0 victory against Wigan Athletic in the FA Community Shield.

But all didn’t seem to go smoothly after winning his first League game against Swansea City as the club succumbed to one of their worst start to a Premier League campaign and unibet bonus code for 2019 offers the best odds on which you can place your bets.

After suffering several home defeats and being knocked out of the FA Cup and EFL Cup race, United were then eliminated from the Champions League in the quarter-final by Bayern Munich.

David Moyes was Red Devils’ manager for 10 months before being sacked by the club on April 2014.

Embed from Getty Images

Louis van Gaal

May 2014, Dutchman Louis van Gaal was appointed as manager to replace the sacked David Moyes.

Van Gaal made some huge changes to the club as he brought in new players like Ander Herrera, Marcos Rojo, Luke Shaw and Angel Di Maria to the team also promoting Marcus Rashford to the senior team.

But in his two year reign as United manager, Van Gaal was only able to win one FA Cup for the club in the same year he was sacked.


Embed from Getty Images

Jose Mourinho

Portuguese and former Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho was announced as Manchester United head coach in May 2016 and just like Moyes, Mourinho was able to win FA Community Shield in his first official game in charge against Leicester City.

The Portuguese manager went on to win the EFL Cup and UEFA Europa League in his first season as manager for the club. Mourinho then parted ways with the club on December 2018 following a poor run of form in the 2018/19 campaign.

Embed from Getty Images

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, who was first appointed as caretaker manager, was handed the head coach status as a replacement for Jose Mourinho.

Solskjaer wasted no time as he went six games unbeaten helping the club to Europa League qualification.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is currently Manchester United manager and has been guiding the team well for the 2019/20 campaign. Since the departure of Sir Alex Ferguson, no manager has been able to achieve his kind of success and there’s a doubt in the air if there will ever be.