Keeping up with the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 is an international football competition which will take place in France, commencing on Friday 7th June with the final game concluding on Sunday 7th July.

Embed from Getty Images

This will be the eighth Women’s World Cup, and the first to be hosted by France. The current champions are the United States, who will be looking to achieve their fourth success since the competition began, and 24 teams will participate in total.

The Women’s World Cup enjoys a much higher profile today than it did in its earliest years, and football fans will be keeping a close eye on the World Cup 2019 fixtures list so that they can watch the action live as it happens on TV.

Historical Background about FIFA Women’s World Cup

The first Women’s World Cup tournament was held in 1991, although it was officially referred to as the ‘World Championship for Women’s Football for the M&M’s Cup’ for sponsorship and other reasons.

That inaugural competition, which was hosted by China, saw twelve teams compete, and women were involved in officiating matches as well as playing in them. The winning team was the United States, who beat Norway with a final score of 2-1.

The competition has naturally evolved and grown since that first event, and the United States went on to win it twice more, in 1999 and 2015.

Norway compensated for being runners-up in the first competition by winning it in 1995, and Germany took the title in 2003 and 2007.

Japan is the only other national team to have won, and it did so by beating the United States via a penalty shootout in 2011.

Host Selection and Qualification in FIFA Women’s World Cup

Five countries expressed interest in hosting the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, but only two official bids were received by FIFA, and those were from France and South Korea.

The FIFA Executive Committee considered both bids carefully and took a vote before eventually naming France as the official host nation.

Qualifying for participation in the Women’s World Cup 2019 requires national teams to compete for a stated number of ‘slots’ assigned to different confederations, with a total of 24 slots being available.

Qualification matches to determine the occupants of the available slots were played between April 2017 and December 2018.

Venues choosen for FIFA Women’s World Cup

Embed from Getty Images

The 2019 Women’s World Cup will take place at a total of nine different venues in France, as follows:

* Allianz Riviera in Nice
* Parc Olympique Lyonnais in Lyon
* Parc des Princes in Paris
* Roazhon Park in Rennes
* Stade des Alpes in Grenoble
* Stade August-Delaune in Reims
* Stade du Hainaut in Valenciennes
* Stade de la Mosson in Montpellier
* Stade Océane in La Havre

The competition will open at the Parc des Princes in Paris and will reach its conclusion at the Parc Olympique Lyonnais in Lyon.

Groups and Staging

The 24 teams were allocated to four ‘pots’ according to their official world rankings and teams were then drawn from those pots to create six groups for the Group Stage of the tournament. The results were:

Group A – France, South Korea, Norway and Nigeria.

Group B – Germany, China PR, Spain and South Africa.

Group C – Australia, Italy, Brazil and Jamaica.

Group D – England, Scotland, Argentina and Japan.

Group E – Canada, Cameroon, New Zealand and the Netherlands.

Group F – United States, Thailand, Chile and Sweden.

Group matches will take place between 7 and 20 June, 2019.

You can check which are the channels that show the matches on

The winner and runner-up in each group will progress to the next stage of the competition, which is the knockout stage. The four best third-placed teams will also progress.

The 16 teams which participate in the knockout stage will play their matches from 22 to 25 June, and the subsequent quarter-finals will then be played on 27, 28 and 29 June.

The semi-finals will take place on 2 and 3 July, and the 2019 Women’s World Cup Final will be held on 7 July.

Qualified Teams to the FIFA Women’s World Cup

China PR
New Zealand
South Africa
South Korea
United States

Where to watch the Women’s World Cup 2019 on TV

The 2019 Women’s World Cup promises to be one of the biggest competitions yet, and the nine venues in host nation France are expected to be packed with spectators.

The good news for sports fans who won’t be able to enjoy the action in person is that the Women’s World Cup matches will be televised in many countries around the world. You can check which are the channels that show the matches on

So whether you want to know about the England fixtures (or Lionesses fixtures, if you prefer) or keep up to date with what’s happening in general, be sure to keep an eye on the schedules.